Government to ban on 23 dangerous dog breeds in India (Check Full List)

    India States To Ban 23 Breeds Of “Ferocious” Dogs

    New Delhi: In response to a growing number of pet dog attack incidents, the central government has issued directives to all states and Union Territories to ban the sale, breeding, and ownership of 23 dog breeds identified as aggressive. This list, which includes breeds such as Pitbull Terrier, American Bulldog, Rottweiler, and various Mastiffs, aims to address public safety concerns. The Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying has also mandated the sterilization of these breeds if they are already owned as pets to prevent their further breeding.

    Following requests from citizens, citizen groups, and Animal Welfare Organizations, the Department of Animal Husbandry and Dairying took action to restrict these specific breeds. The expert group has classified 23 breeds, encompassing both purebreds and mixed/crossbreeds, as aggressive and a threat to human safety. The list includes Pitbull Terrier, Tosa Inu, American Staffordshire Terrier, Fila Brasileiro, Dogo Argentino, American Bulldog, Boerboel, Kangal, Central Asian Shepherd Dog, and Caucasian Shepherd Dog.

    Additionally, the government’s recommendation for a ban extends to the South Russian Shepherd Dog, Tornjak, Sarplaninac, Japanese Tosa and Akita, various Mastiffs, Terriers, Rhodesian Ridgeback, Wolf Dogs, Canario, Akbash Dog, Moscow Guard Dog, Cane Corso, and Bandog. According to the department’s letter, “These dog breeds, including their crossbreeds, are to be prohibited from importation, breeding, sale as pet dogs, and other purposes,” following the advice of the expert panel.

    This move by the central government aims to enhance public safety by regulating the ownership of dog breeds considered dangerous or overly aggressive.

    The complete list of dog breeds banned by the government

    1. Pitbull Terrier

    2. Tosa Inu

    3. American Staffordshire Terrier

    4. Fila Brasileiro 5. Dogo Argentino

    6. American Bulldog

    7. Boerboel

    8. Kangal

    9. Central Asian Shepherd Dog

    10. Caucasian Shepherd Dog

    11. South Russian Shepherd Dog

    12. Tornjak, Sarplaninac

    13. Japanese Tosa and Akita

    14. Mastiffs 15. Rottweiler

    16. Terriers

    17. Rhodesian Ridgeback

    18. Wolf Dogs

    19. Canario

    20. Akbash

    21. Moscow Guard

    22. Cane Corso

    23. Bandog